Checking In

The past couple of weeks have been a flurry of activity and productivity; enough to merit checking in with folks and sharing what I have been up to and what I have learned.

I’ve been busy refactoring the core views which drive Dex visualizations; spending a ton of time in the Javascript visuals.  I’m like a kid in a candy story, excited about how things are coming together.

I finally decided to share small examples of the work via gists and blocks.  Here is a series of them that I have created in the past week or so:

Click the image below to go there:

blocks

Most of the changes have already found their way into Dex and I’ve checked in a ton of changes into the github site.  If you get your Dex release via git, its worth checking out.

Assuming you have git installed and Java 8 (I use revision 121 currently, but lower versions of Java 8 will probably work), installation can be done in 3 steps.

  1. git clone https://github.com/PatMartin/Dex.git
  2. cd Dex
  3. java -jar Dex.jar

If you get it via official releases, it’ll be awhile before I package another one up.  It’s time consuming and I don’t feel like breaking stride just yet.

Next, I’ve been putting effort into the dexjs site.  I think that I prefer it as both a website and blogging facility.  Once I work all the kinks out of it, I’ll be migrating Dex into something separate,but similar.

The main reason for the move is control.  I am using Hugo to deploy the static site and I end up having much more control over the content.  It’s not as polished looking as wordpress.com but I feel it can be as good or better in the long run.

Most importantly, rather than linking to external sites for live content, I can embed it directly into the discussion.  As the blog posts I’ve been writing over there indicate.  Here are a few of them:

  • Introducing the new Treemap – Here I introduce a new Treemap which is also available in Dex.  Having live examples inline in the blog article really makes a difference.
  • D3 v3/v4 Cohabitation – Here I discuss a technique for mixing two incompatible versions of the same library (D3) into the same framework and getting them actually to interact well weith one another.
  • Treemap Bar Chart – Here I introduce a brand new visual which will be coming to Dex soon.  Check it out, it’s awesome!

Now on Github

  • Lots of bug fixes, including the ability to cleanly terminate a flow.
  • All of the dexjs charts are vastly improved and some new ones are here
    • Network
    • Ring Network
    • Treemap
  • You can now script in Ruby within Dex!
  • Line Chart Multiples
  • Database interaction improvements such as strict type creation for HyperSQL
  • Selenium updates
  • Much more…

Coming soon…

  • Maps and the ability to visualize them in all sorts of ways
  • Better documentation, I can barely keep up!

Final Thoughts

Lastly, now that ANTLR has a Javascript target, I am considering writing a web based language for data visualization.  I haven’t forgotten the dream that Brett Victor left me with in his series on Drawing Dynamic Visualizations and Stop Drawing Dead Fish.  I feel that a more expressive language might be the gateway to achieving this.

While Dex provides an easy way to manipulate data and a wide variety of output templates, it falls very short of Brett’s vision.

Lastly, just so this idea doesn’t die, I was thinking about creating a tool which allows Force Tree visualization of the DOM tree in realtime.  This would come in handy for debugging other visuals which manipulate the DOM and allow me a tool for quickly understanding the anatomy of a visual and how it changes as one interacts with it.  Maybe tieing the Player and Network components together from dex.js and storing DOM changes in frames so that I could play through them.

Oh, and Happy New Year!!

  • Pat

About patmartin

I am a coder and Data Visualization/Machine Learning enthusiast.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment