Internet Adoption : The Movie

Player_WDI_InetUsePlotly

In my last blog article I discussed the reusable Player component.  So I’ve decided to put it to work on a real WDI dataset consisting of 5,166 rows.  This example plays a heatmap of % users on the internet mapped across country.

Images link to live examples.

Tying the plot.ly chloropleth to the player was quite easy.  In this case, I didn’t even bother to wrap the component in the Dex component framework, though I may do so in the future for consistency.

Next, I threw the same dataset at the C3 based player discussed in the earlier blog.  I also expanded the player to support categorical x-axis.  By framing the data in different ways, we can create very different views of the data and gain deeper insight.

In this example, I frame the data by country.   The player plays the internet adoption across each country from 1989-2014.  Here, we can see Afghanistan’s slow but increased adoption of the internet.

Player_WDI_InetUseFramedByCountry

By simply reframing the datset by year, we can see all countries side by side.  The player cycles through time.  There are many labels, so the zoom and pan options of C3 come in handy here.  Same data, but quite a different view.

Player_WDI_InetUseFramedByYear

Anyway, that’s it for now, but I expect that there will be much more to come.

  • Pat
About patmartin

I am a coder and Data Visualization/Machine Learning enthusiast.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

