Checking In

Ok, figured I would check in.

I have had pretty good success with combining Angular, Angular-UI, Bootstrap-UI, JQuery, JQueryUI to provide a pretty solid mockup for the dynamic drawing editor demonstrated by Bret Victor back in February 2013.

I really should read more about the technologies I am using, but I can’t seem to stop myself from diving straight in.  I will course correct if I need to.  I’d rather blunder and blog.

First, let me say, AngularJS is wonderful.  My only criticism is that sometimes the error messages can be misleading.  However, coming from the Java world of stack traces stacked 50 deep, I can live with it.  The Angular framework is really a phenomenal addition to the JS world.

Back to my topic….

Anyway, here is my current mockup…

image

which shamelessly emulates Bret’s interface…

image

So far everything is panning out as I expected.  There is a lot of work ahead so don’t get too excited.  There is still a chance I’ll get penned into a problem outside of my capabilities to solve, but it won’t be for lack of trying.

Dex/Dex Charts/Dex Editor Roadmap

Don’t worry, I have not abandoned Dex nor Dex Charts.  The creation of these things is truly a joy to me.  I just can’t be in two places at once.  My vision is that this online editor I am creating, for lack of a better name, let’s call it DexEd, will allow us to create web-ready, data driven dynamic drawing templates through the direct manipulation techniques described by Bret Victor and Alan Kay.

Dex itself will provide a richer ecosystem of an ETL framework.  DexCharts will provide a series of reusable charts which also can be imported into Dex or used directly on the web.  DexEd, hopefully…someday…knock on wood…I hope will provide a flexible way to create data driven drawings which will be reusable by nature; but will not require coding.

Ultimately, my goal is to bring the capability to draw things freehand which would normally only be possible to the elite few who have mastered D3, Raphael and other visualization frameworks without the pain of coding.  Direct manipulation.

Now this part gets far-fetched, but I don’t think it is.  I see physics models also being things which could be assigned dynamically to these drawings.  Things like various forces such as gravity, repulsion and attraction.   But, first let’s crawl, then walk, then job and hopefully one day run…

Anyway, that’s it for now…

About patmartin

I am a coder and Data Visualization/Machine Learning enthusiast.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

