The Office Chair

Warning, this post has nothing to do with either Dex or data visualization.  This is a story about me, my office, and a chair.

Here is what my current office space looks like.  I took this photo a couple of minutes ago.  I neither made a mess, nor cleaned up and I am neither proud nor ashamed.  After a failed attempt at installing flooring, I settled on OSB with a throw rug.  There is the occasional nail head which catches a toe as I walk through, which is why I added the $16.00 Walmart throw rug.  It’s cluttered and hides at least 10 computers.  By far, it’s the hottest room in the house and the subwoofer that doubles as an ottoman occasionally shocks the living crap out of me.  It’s better than caffeine.  I swear I’m going to fix it every time I get shocked, but I never do.

image

My old office chair, while comfortable enough, started to fall apart.  The others were uncomfortable.  Many layers of duct tape, hours (well minutes anyway) spent tightening the chair couldn’t return this chair to it’s original, quite comfortable state.

image

So I had a choice to make…

image

You may be surprised to learn that I am somewhat of a science fiction geek.  Please note that the last sentence was dripping with sarcasm.  Any data geek knows that there is a high correlation between a love of data and that of science fiction.  It might be a direct correlation.  I’m not sure.  I lack the data, but the empirical evidence I have seen so far is compelling.

One of my favorite movie series was the Matrix.  It has everything, action, a plausible storyline, more action, super cool indoor-sunglass-wearing Laurence Fishburne and the coolest chair I have ever seen.  I remember watching the movie where Morpheus is sitting in the chair thinking, “Wow, that looks comfortable.  Wish I had one of those.”

This chair even made it into an action figure.  How cool is that?

Now, as my dad says, “I’m not made out of money.”  I don’t have a money tree.  So I never really thought I’d have anything close to this.  The real chair is very expensive.  It’s hand crafted in England for the wealthy folk who can afford to sit in such $4,000 USD luxuries.

Craigs List

Now understand that my family has a ton of price conscious professional shoppers.  These industrious women can find anything on the internet.  Even better, they can find things cheap.

Two weeks later, my sister-in-law finds this gem for $75.00 on Craigs List (Thanks Heather!).  And yes, it’s sitting in my living room right now 🙂

image

Once I find a few some new legs and a couple of Lion’s heads to add to the armrests, I’ll be good to go.  I can almost hear the sound of my wife rolling her eyes 🙂

– Pat

About patmartin

I am a coder and Data Visualization/Machine Learning enthusiast.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

