Dex 0.4: Stuff I Forgot To Mention

Stuff I Forgot To Mention

Last blog post I was in a rush to take my daughter to the movies.  I forgot to mention a few important upcoming additions.

Windows Installer

Dex 0.4 will have a Windows installer.  After 0.4, I will start working on better Linux/Unix support.

CSV Output

There is now a component for capturing CSV output of a workflow.  It’s not super exciting, but it is useful when you need such a thing.

Jython Support

I was watching Eric Raymond speak to a Java User’s group.  I was really impressed with his eloquence.  He made a compelling argument for Python.  It was one which spoke to me.  The most important metric for a programming language is maintainability, bar none.    I could not agree more.  Coming back to clever code you authored 6 months ago is sometimes painful.  The pain tends to be directly proportional to the cleverness.  I shudder to revisit Perl code I wrote in my early 20’s.

I am all about options, so I figured why not integrate Python into the mix and see for myself?  You are no longer limited to only using Groovy.  You can now write Python/Jython programs within Dex.

There was another reason for this madness.  It should make key scientific programming libraries like NumPy and SciPy available to Dex.

Ironically, Dex is calling Jython from Groovy and not Java.  The promiscuity of the whole thing causes me to smile.  I think I might be a geek.

Image

Documentation

Last, but certainly not least, there is a new module called Documentation.

The documentation module allows for inline editing:

Image

The HTML tab is for viewing:

Image

Content can also be saved off into external html files or simply stored inline within the project itself.  The documentation module is a great way for communicating the stuff your workflow is doing.

That’s it for now,

– Pat

About patmartin

I am a coder and Data Visualization/Machine Learning enthusiast.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

