DexCharts Update : November 22, 2013

I’ve been working hard on DexCharts.  Here are a few sneak peeks at what’s coming.

All images link to live content

Axis

It’s ironic that I had so much trouble with the bar chart visual.  My main trouble has been around how to handle axis.  I decided to make Axis a first class component so that I could decouple it from the rest of the visuals.  I also thought that there may be times when you’d want to treat an axis as a separate entity altogether.  Here’s a demo of a few types of axis.  Note that I haven’t quite fixed the log axis yet.

Here we have a horizontal linear axis with format, another one with some different styling.  Then we have a series of vertical axis: linear, sqrt, log, time and of course ordinal.

image

Virtually every aspect of the axis can be configured directly from DexCharts.

BarCharts

Barcharts are getting more usable.  I’m not quite there yet, but here is some pretty cool progress.  They are more capable now with much less code.  Why the simplest of charts has been the hardest for me…I do not know.  It’s humbling.  Anyway, here’s some of what the latest bar chart can do:

From the simple…

image

to a high resolution bar chart…

image

…to bars with gradients…

image

..to all sorts of crazy fill patterns…

image

Clustered Force

Clustered force got a makeover…

image

You can do some crazy things with it…and with all the components actually…I’m supporting svg transforms at virtually every layer.

image

More soon…

Of course, I broke a few things along the way…which is why I haven’t checked it back into github yet…

I’m also working at providing angular directives which will render DexCharts with all the goodness that angular provides (2-way bindings, etc…)

- Pat

About patmartin

I am a coder and Data Visualization/Machine Learning enthusiast.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DexCharts Update : November 22, 2013

  1. Mihai says:

    clustered force is a killer :))), i love it

Leave a Reply

